Trustees Election and Appointments

ERS Trustees Election and Appointments

Barth elected to serve on ERS Board of Trustees

Section 815.003(d) of the Texas Government Code states that before August 31 of each odd-numbered year, the Board of Trustees (Board) of the Employees Retirement System of Texas (ERS) is required to hold an election for the members and retirees of the system to nominate and elect a trustee.

On July 11, Brian Barth of Flower Mound was certified as the winner of the 2019 ERS Board of Trustees election.

Barth is the Director of Project Planning and Development at the Texas Department of Transportation and has more than 30 years of state service. As a trustee, Barth vowed “to make decisions that ensure the long term viability of ERS so retirees and employees can count on the benefits they have earned.” 

ERS members and retired state employees who receive an annuity from ERS were eligible to vote in this year’s election. Barth will fill the position held by Doug Danzeiser of the Texas Department of Insurance, whose term ends August 31, 2019. Barth’s term will begin September 1, 2019, and end August 31, 2025. 

2019 Board of Trustees Ballot Totals
2019 Board of Trustees Ballot Total Ballots % Received
Brian Barth 17,019 50.5%
Cora Bennett 16,704 49.5%
Total 33,723  

Trustee appointment and terms

The term of Board member Doug Danzeiser will expire on August 31, 2019. Danzeiser holds one of three seats elected by ERS members and retirees. Three other Board members are appointed: one each by the Governor, the Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives, and the Chief Justice of the Texas Supreme Court.

Both appointed and elected Board members serve staggered six-year terms. The terms of appointees expire on August 31 of each even-numbered year. The terms of elected Board members expire on August 31 of each odd-numbered year. This year, one employee member will be elected by state employees and retirees to serve as their member representative.