ERS Board appoints new advisory committee members

March 08, 2021

GBAC logoThe Employees Retirement System of Texas (ERS) Board of Trustees in December appointed one new member to the Group Benefits Advisory Committee (GBAC) and reappointed two existing members. 

GBAC members represent agencies and higher education institutions that participate in the Texas Employees Group Benefits Program (GBP) and other stakeholders, including retirees and benefits professionals. The new members are serving three-year terms that began in January. 

Barbara Cherry now represents health-related institutions and filled the position held by Cynthia Jumper, whose term expired December 31, 2020. Cherry is a nursing professor and associate dean for strategic partnerships at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center. 

Members Megan LaVoie and James Dobbins were reappointed to represent mid-sized state agencies and retirees, respectively. Gary White of Austin is the Committee’s other retiree representative. His term expires December 31, 2021. 

Read more about the GBAC and see the complete list of committee members on the GBAC webpage.