Found money! Check out the state’s unclaimed property program

March 02, 2022

Note: The following article was provided to News About Your Benefits by the office of the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts.

Texas Capitol exteriorBy law, institutions, businesses and government entities in Texas are required to report any unclaimed personal property to the state. The state is in possession of more than $7 billion in cash and other valuables through its unclaimed property program. Since the program began 1962, the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts has returned more than $3 billion in unclaimed property to its rightful owners. 

You could be one of those owners. Unclaimed assets currently in the program include the following:

  • Dividend, payroll or cashier's checks
  • Utility deposits and other refunds
  • Bank accounts and safe deposit box contents
  • Insurance proceeds
  • Mineral interest or royalty payments
  • Court deposits, trust funds or escrow accounts
  • Overpayments on insurance, utilities and other bills  

See if you’re a rightful owner

It only takes a minute to search for property you may not know is there. Search at ClaimItTexas.org. You can also call toll-free (800) 321-2274 Monday–Friday, 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. CT.

You can also visit MissingMoney.com or FindMyFunds.com to search for property that may belong to you in other states.