ERS Trustees

The ERS Board of Trustees comprises six members. Three trustees are appointed — one each by the Governor, the Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives and the Chief Justice of the Texas Supreme Court — and confirmed by the Texas Senate. ERS members and retirees elect the other three. Both appointed and elected trustees serve staggered six-year terms, with the terms of one appointee expiring on August 31 of each even-numbered year and the term of one elected trustee on August 31 of each odd-numbered year. More information is available in the Texas Administrative Code.

Craig HesterI. Craig Hester, Chair

First appointed in 2005

Portrait of Catherine MelvinCatherine Melvin, Vice-Chair

Elected in 2017

photo of Brian BarthBrian Barth

Elected in 2019

Portrait of Ilesa DanielsIlesa Daniels

Elected in 2015

photo of Jim KeeJames (Jim) Kee, Ph.D.

First appointed in 2018